How to Activate Imported Users

Created by Autum Brown, Modified on Tue, 11 Jul 2023 at 10:59 AM by Brittany Crow

Heads up! This article is for Site Managers. Program Managers and Program Facilitators do not have the option to activate imported users.


What does activating imported users do?

Once you have completed a user import, those new user accounts are given a status of Imported. When you are ready for your site to go "live," one of your most important steps is to activate those user accounts. When you activate user accounts:

  • The user statuses are changed from Imported to Active.
  • A notification is sent to all newly activated users, letting them know they have an account and providing a temporary password so they can log in.

 So you know: Want to see a list of which notifications go to volunteers?—click here.


Until a user has an active account, they cannot log in to your site, respond to opportunities, or log hours.


How to activate imported users:

  1. Go to Volunteerism > Users. A list of users is displayed.
  2. Click on User Filter to open the user filter, and then run a filter on User Data > User Status > is > imported.
  3. Click Submit to view only those users with a imported status.
  4. From the Select an Action dropdown, select Activate Imported Users.
  5. Click the Activate Imported Users button to confirm your selection. Once you do this, two things happen:
  • The users' statuses and changed from Imported to Active
  • Each user receives an email that
    • welcomes them to your site and
    • provides a temporary password so that they can log into the site.

 So you know: The template for this message is titled "User Imported Message". Click here to learn how to edit the text of this and other notification templates.