Hours Approval Settings—For Site Managers

Created by Brittany Crow, Modified on Tue, 11 Jul 2023 at 10:54 AM by Brittany Crow

Heads up! This article is intended for site managers. If you're an advanced program manager looking for information about managing your programs, click here. If you're a program facilitator looking for information about reviewing your programs, click here.


Your site offers automation settings to help streamline your volunteer management process! You can decide if hours are automatically approved when submitted or if they must be reviewed and approved manually. In this article, we cover: 


Your volunteer hours approval settings

To set up your volunteer hours approval settings:

1. Go to Settings > Main Settings2. On the Site Settings page, scroll until you see Approval

Approval settings

Under the Approval settings, you can set up hours to be automatically approved or require your review and approval first. 


Auto Approve Program Opportunities

Do you want to automatically approve newly posted Opportunities in your Programs? Just toggle the button beside Auto Approve Program Opportunities to On, or toggle it Off if you want to review them before they're live on your site. 


Hours Approval

There are three options for Hours Approval: 

  • Volunteers must submit hours for approval
    • This setting requires volunteers to submit their hours for approval—they aren't automatically approved. 
    • We don't recommend using this setting as it requires volunteers to manually enter and verify their hours—which is sometimes a missed step leaving them with missing or inaccurate hours. 
  • Hours logged will automatically be submitted for approval
    • This setting means that any hours submitted must be reviewed by you, or another site manager, for approval. 
  • Hours logged will be automatically approved 
    • This setting means that any hours submitted are automatically approved without your review first.