How to Add Volunteers to Programs as a Site Manager

Created by Brittany Crow, Modified on Thu, 28 Dec 2023 at 10:32 AM by Brittany Crow

Heads up! This article is intended for Site Managers. If you're an Advanced Program Manager, click here


Now that you've added users and programs to your site, it's time to assign those users to programs! There are a few ways volunteers can be added to programs: 

  • You or an advanced program manager add them manually
    • This can be done individually or in bulk
  • They registered on a track that is set up for a specific program
  • You allow a program to schedule and add hours for all users on your site regardless of whether or not they're assigned to it

Here we cover: 

So you know: Assigning and interacting or adding to a Program have different meanings. 

  • A user can only be assigned to a Program if they're added by a Site Manager, Advanced Program Manager, or by completing a Track that assigns them to a Program. 
    • They are assigned to the Program and it is displayed in the Programs area of their user profile. 
  • If a user interacts with a Program—e.g., responds to a Program's Opportunity—then they have interacted with that Program and are now added to it. 
    • They aren't assigned to the Program and it won't display in the Programs area of their user profile. 


Assigning volunteers to programs

How to assign volunteers individually

To get started: 

1. Go to Volunteerism > Users

2. Select the user you want to assign to a program. 

3. Click Programs from the Edit User area. 

4. Use the Select Program dropdown for the Assigned Programs table to select a program. 

5. Click Add


How to assign volunteers in bulk 

To get started: 

1. Go to Volunteerism > Users

2. Use the User Filter to filter for all the volunteers you want to assign to a program. 

3. Select Assign/Remove Program with the Select An Action dropdown. 

4. Select the program you want to assign them to. 

5. Click Update Users when you're ready!


How to add all users on your site to a program

Do you want to allow a program to schedule and submit hours for volunteers on your site even when they aren't assigned to that program? You can when setting up the program or by editing an existing one. The button to turn this option on and off is found on the Edit Program page for that program.

So you know: This only adds the users to the Program, it doesn't assign them to it. The Program won't appear in their Assigned Programs list from their profile area when added this way.  


Enable for a new program

1. To enable this for a new program, go to Volunteerism > Programs

2. Click Add New Program

3. Under Basic Information, toggle the button to Yes beside Assign All Users to Program

  • You can always disable this option by coming back to this area and toggling the button to No.

4. Continue setting up your program—click here for more information about setting up programs on your site. 

5. Be sure to click Submit Program to save your changes.


Enable for an existing program

1. To enable this for an existing program, go to Volunteerism > Programs

2. Select the Program Name from the table that you want to update. 

3. Under Basic Information, toggle the button to Yes beside Assign All Users to Program

  • You can always disable this option by coming back to this area and toggling the button to No.
  • This retroactively adds all of the users on the site to the Program and any new users that register on the site are automatically added to it as well. 

4. Be sure to click Submit Program to save your changes. 


How to review users in a Program

Don't see any Programs in the Assigned Programs for a user? It might be that they've only interacted with a Program by responding to its Opportunities or being part of a User Group in that Program. You can always find a full list of users who are assigned to a Program or have interacted with a Program by assuming the Program Manager's profile. Click here to learn more about assuming a user's role.